logo-gruppo-bancario-iccrealogo BCC-credito-cooperativo

EU – cooperation, Atlantic Area programme 2014-2020 adopted

The EU Commission adopted the 2014-2020 Atlantic Area Transnational Cooperation Programme, worth 185.3 million of euros


The programme aims to fostering innovation, promoting a resource-efficient economy, protecting the Atlantic territory against risks of natural and human origin and promoting the natural and cultural assets.

The programme involves 38 regions from 5 EU Member States: France, Spain, Portugal, Ireland and the United Kingdom, including the outermost regions of the Canary Islands (Spain) and the Autonomous Regions of the Azores and Madeira (Portugal)

The programme's four priorities are:

  • boosting innovation and competitiveness, accelerating smart growth;
  • fostering a resource-efficient economy, promoting the use of renewable energies
  • strengthening the territory's resilience to risks of natural, climate and human origin, Supporting a better protection and management of the territory;
  • protecting the biodiversity and promoting the cultural and natural assets of the region.

The budget is 185.3 million of euros, with a contribution from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) of 140 million of euros.

Corina Creţu, Commissioner for Regional Policy said: “This transnational cooperation programme offers concrete opportunities to encourage innovation in all sectors involving private and public stakeholders, while protecting the region's rich natural resources”.

Horizon 2020 - Research Infrastructures, work programme 2016-2017

Author: //www.flickr.com/photos/49503180180@N01/">cuellar / photo on flickr