logo-gruppo-bancario-iccrealogo BCC-credito-cooperativo

EU - Interreg Italy-Austria 2014-2020 adopted

The European Commission adopted a new Interreg programme to foster cross-border cooperation between Italy and Austria


The programme will support in particular cross-border cooperation between research and innovation institutions in the region. It will also protect and preserve the common natural and cultural heritage.

This is the only European Territorial Cooperation programme which relies on community-led local development (CLLD) through an active involvement of all local actors.

The regions involved in the Interreg V-A Italy-Austria programme are:

  • in Italy: South Tyrol, Veneto and Friuli Venezia Giulia;
  • in Austria: Tyrol, Carinthia and Salzburg.

The programme will focus on four priorities:

  • developing further cross-border research and innovation activities (27% of the EU-funding);
  • protecting and exploiting the potential of the common cultural and natural heritage (30%);
  • improving the cooperation between public institutions (21%);
  • promoting community-led local development (CLLD) (16%).

The budget is over 98 million of euros, with more than 82 million of euros from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

EU - cooperation, Atlantic area programme 2014-2020 adopted

Author: JonathanFord / photo on flickr